News Releases


If approved by San Antonio City Council, Mackey will serve his second term on the Board

October 31, 2022 (SAN ANTONIO) – Today, the CPS Energy Board of Trustees voted to reappoint Dr. Willis Mackey for a second term on the Board. Dr. Mackey currently serves as Board Chair, a position he’s held since last year. He began his first five-year term on the Board in April 2018. If confirmed by the San Antonio City Council, Dr. Mackey will serve his second five-year term.  

Dr. Willis Mackey

Dr. Mackey is a retired public school administrator, current consultant to school districts across the state and began his work career in the energy industry. He is a member of the following CPS Energy Board Committees: Audit & Finance, Personnel, Nominations, Employee Benefits Oversight and Risk Management.  During his time as a Trustee, he has voted in support of the City of San Antonio’s Climate Action & Adaptation Plan, voted in support of electing Janie Martinez Gonzalez and Dr. Francie Romero to serve as Trustees, voted to extend the Sustainable Tomorrow Energy Plan (STEP) and voted to charge the CPS Energy Rate Advisory Committee to evaluate various options on how to power our community in the future.

“Critical decisions are on the horizon for CPS Energy and our community as we look at the path forward for our future power needs. Meeting the city’s carbon reduction goals and accomplishing our CEO’s Vision 2027 plan are two critical efforts for which the Board is accountable for during my second term of service. With that, I accept the responsibility and look forward to the next five years,” said Dr. Mackey.

The CPS Energy Board of Trustees sets policy and oversees the President & CEO and management team who operate the nation’s largest municipally owned electric and gas utility. CPS Energy generates more than $2.5 billion in revenues annually, manages over $11 billion in assets, employs 3,000 employees locally, and has returned $9 billion to the City of San Antonio during 80 years of municipal ownership.

Trustees may serve up to two five-year terms. The Board consists of four citizens residing in each of the geographical quadrants within Bexar County and the Mayor of San Antonio, who serves as an ex-officio member. Other Board members include Vice-Chair Janie Martinez Gonzalez, John Steen, and Dr. Francine Sanders Romero.

The CPS Energy Board of Trustees generally meet on the last Monday of each month at 1:00 p.m. Community members are welcome to address the Board on agendized items in the Public Comment portion of Board meetings by calling (210) 353-4662 or by email at [email protected] to pre-register to speak. Additional information about the CPS Energy Board of Trustees and the schedule of Board meetings can be found on CPS Energy’s website.


About CPS Energy

Established in 1860, CPS Energy is the nation’s largest public power, natural gas, and electric company, providing safe, reliable, and competitively-priced service to more than 907,526 electric and 373,998 natural gas customers in San Antonio and portions of seven adjoining counties. Our customers’ combined energy bills rank among the lowest of the nation’s 20 largest cities – while generating $9 billion in revenue for the City of San Antonio for 80 years. As a trusted and strong community partner, we continuously focus on job creation, economic development, and educational investment. We are powered by our skilled workforce, whose commitment to the community is demonstrated through our employees’ volunteerism in giving back to our city and programs aimed at bringing value to our customers. CPS Energy is among the top public power wind energy buyers in the nation and number one in Texas for solar generation.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *