News Releases


Vice Chair Gonzalez and Trustee Romero elected as next Chair and Vice Chair becoming the first pair of women to serve in these roles on the CPS Energy Board

January 30, 2023 (SAN ANTONIO) – Today, the CPS Energy Board of Trustees voted to elect Janie Martinez Gonzalez as the new Board Chair and Dr. Francine Sanders Romero as the new Vice Chair. This is effective February 1, 2023, and will make the first time a pair of women will lead the CPS Energy Board in these roles.

“I am looking forward to leading a diverse community in a time when we are facing significant growth, increased demand for diverse energy resources, and the modernization of the Texas Grid,” said Gonzalez.

“I want to thank the CPS Energy Board of Trustees for giving me the opportunity to serve as Vice Chair,” said Romero. “I vow to continue to work toward pushing new initiatives that will not only benefit CPS Energy but the San Antonio community. I am proud to be a part of the change that has already taken place and look forward to what is next.”

Incoming Board Chair Gonzalez is completing her term as Vice Chair and will succeed Dr. Willis Mackey as Chair. Gonzalez participates in many CPS Energy events, and currently serves as the Chair of the Technology & Resilience Committee and the Personnel Committee. She is also a member of the Nominations, Operations Oversight, and Risk Management committees. Gonzalez, who began serving on the Board in February 2019, is the president and CEO of Webhead, a company that specializes in providing cybersecurity solutions to clients across the nation.

Dr. Romero is the newest member of the CPS Energy Board. She serves as Chair of both the Operations Oversight and Risk Management committees. She is also the Board liaison to the CPS Energy Rate Advisory Committee (RAC) which recently recommended the generation resource plan that was selected by the Board. The RAC will now begin discussing rate structure and design.

During their time on the CPS Energy Board, both Trustees have voted in favor of:

  • Rudy Garza as President & CEO
  • Dr. Willis Mackey’s reappointment to the Board
  • Approval of the Generation Resource Plan

The Board consists of four citizens residing in each of the four geographical quadrants within Bexar County and the Mayor of San Antonio, who serves as an ex-officio member and represents the City Council and keeps Council members advised and informed. Other Board members include Trustee John Steen and outgoing Chair Dr. Willis Mackey.

The CPS Energy Board of Trustees typically meets on the last Monday of each month at 1:00 p.m. Community members are welcome to address the Board about current agenda items in the Public Comment portion of Board meetings by calling (210) 353-4662 or emailing [email protected] to pre-register to speak. Additional information about the CPS Energy Board of Trustees and the schedule of Board meetings can be found on CPS Energy’s website.


About CPS Energy

Established in 1860, CPS Energy is the nation’s largest public power, natural gas, and electric company, providing safe, reliable, and competitively-priced service to more than 907,526 electric and 373,998 natural gas customers in San Antonio and portions of seven adjoining counties. Our customers’ combined energy bills rank among the lowest of the nation’s 20 largest cities – while generating $9 billion in revenue for the City of San Antonio for 80 years. As a trusted and strong community partner, we continuously focus on job creation, economic development, and educational investment. We are powered by our skilled workforce, whose commitment to the community is demonstrated through our employees’ volunteerism in giving back to our city and programs aimed at bringing value to our customers. CPS Energy is among the top public power wind energy buyers in the nation and number one in Texas for solar generation.


  • I am extremely excited and thrilled to see a strong, qualified Latina business woman leading our City Public Energy as our Board Chairwoman. Thanks you to the board for realizing her appointment to leading our city’s future.

    • Thank you, Lourdes. We are excited to have both Janie Gonzalez and Dr. Francine Romero lead our Board room.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *